MAGICAL MONDAYS WEEK 2: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Film

I can still remember my excitement waiting for the first Harry Potter film to come out when I was seven – I couldn’t wait for my mum to get home from Tesco with the video (makes me feel so old!). I was so eager to watch it I took it straight upstairs and watched it by myself – I didn’t even want to wait for the rest of my family to join me.

I LOVED it and I can’t even begin to think how many times I’ve watched it since – one of the things my mum and I love best is to sit down in the afternoon with a Harry Potter film. I could probably recite most of them, the first one in particular, simply because I have watched it so many times.

Harry, Ron and Hermione were just as I had imagined them. As were many of the cast – Dumbledore, Hagrid and McGonagall are also perfectly cast in my opinion. I can remember I was a bit disappointed with some of the things they had cut out for the film – I was too young to understand that it would be impossible to make it word for word. Although, that being said, I would happily sit through a seven hour Harry Potter film so they could include everything!

I still love the first film, even though when I watch it now some of the special effects are a bit dated – Quidditch scenes have definitely improved in the later movies! If I have children I’m probably going to be one of those awful parents that makes them sit through ‘really old’ movies while they laugh at the special effects. I know that’s what has happened when my parents have shown me films they used to love. The thought of that makes me sad, but I think the first film will always have a special charm because it was the first time we got to see the magical world of Hogwarts on screen.

Leave a Reply

