MAGICAL MONDAYS WEEK 1: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Book)

21591447252_bca7c6c07b_o

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy – until he is rescued by a beetle-eyed giant of a man, enrols at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learns to play quidditch and does battle in a deadly duel. The Reason: HARRY POTTER IS A WIZARD!

I started early with Harry Potter, picking up the first book when I was just six. I had no idea what it was about, I just found it on my mum’s bedside table when we were on holiday and started reading…and have been in love with the series ever since. The magical world J. K. Rowling had created gripped me instantly; Diagon Alley, Hogwarts, the magical creatures and of course the best literary trio: Harry, Hermione and Ron. I had a particular fondness for Hermione because, just like me, she was a bookworm who relied on books for all the answers. I have loved reading for as long as I can remember, and I will always have a book on the go. The idea of a world without books makes me shudder – what would I do with my free time?!

I can remember re-reading ‘Philosopher’s Stone’ for the first time when I was nine – I sat down one Saturday and was determined to finish it before I had to go back to school on Monday. I took in so much more the second time round and probably understood more as well, because I was that bit older. Still now, when I re-read the books I notice more connections that run right through from the very first book to the last. I am in awe of J. K. Rowling and how amazing her imagination and mind must be to create such an intricate story that she must have had planned out completely from the very first page of the first book. I would love to meet her and have a chance to ask her all the questions I have thought of over the years.

I am a bit ashamed of the condition of my copy of the ‘Philosopher’s Stone’, but considering I have owned it for over fifteen years now and read it multiple times I guess the rips and wrinkles just add to its character and show how well-loved it has been! I have had to put it in a plastic jacket and sellotape it a couple of times to keep it together together though…!

Little did I know when I first picked up this book what a big part it would come to play in my life, and how obsessed I would become with Hogwarts and the wizarding world!

Leave a Reply

