My Favourite Literary Mothers

As a celebration of Mother’s Day (in the UK) I though I would do a post featuring some of my favourite mothers from literature.

Picture1

Mrs Weasley – Harry Potter

Mrs Weasley is probably my favourite fictional mother. She is strong, nurturing and fiercely protective of her family. I also love how naturally she extended her mothering nature to include Harry to, and always did her best to make him feel like part of the family.

Not my daughter, you bitch!


Marmee – Little Women

Marmee is just the sort of mother anyone would want. Loving, caring and always trying to do her best for the family, regardless of how difficult things are. She keeps her four daughters together and always puts them first.

Time erodes all such beauty, but what it cannot diminish is the wonderful workings of your mind: your humor, your kindness and your moral courage.


Mrs Lancaster – The Fault in Our Stars

Mrs Lancaster is dedicatedΒ to make Hazel’s life better and more enjoyable. She tries to make every day special for Hazel and is willing to do anything for her. Her ability to remain so strong when her daughter is ill is inspirational. And of course, if it wasn’t for Mrs Lancaster, Hazel would never have met Gus.

But she kept asking, as if there were something she could do, until I just kind of crawled across the couch into her lap and my dad came over and held my legs really tight and I wrapped my arms all the way around my mom’s middle and they held on to me for hours while the tide rolled in.


Lily Potter- Harry Potter

Lily Potter made the ultimate sacrifice as a mother, fighting Voldemort until her last moments desperate to save her son. Her love was so strong, it continued to protect Harry for years.

Lily’s smile was widest of all. She pushed her long hair back as she drew close to him, and her green eyes, so like his, searched his face hungrily, as though she would never be able to look at him enough.


Miss Honey – Matilda

Although Miss Honey isn’t Matilda’s biological mother, she does become her adoptive one. She gives Matilda the love she has never had, and together they form a mother-daughter bond they have both always dreamed of having.

What she needed was just one person, one wise and sympathetic grown-up who could help her.

 

 

Leave a Reply

