Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

img_6495

RATING: ★★★★☆

It is always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus, must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past an present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.


Having been a Harry Potter fan since the age of six (sixteen years ago….what!?!?) I was obviously very excited when I heard the news that a new Harry Potter book was being released. One of my friends, who is equally a Harry Potter nerd, pre-ordered the book for my birthday which is in February, so I had a very long wait for it to come out. I did actually read it as soon as it was released, I have just taken a while to review it because work and a holiday got in the way!

At first I was slightly apprehensive about the script format of the book because I wasn’t sure how well it would read.However, you do get used to it very quickly and it actually made the book a very quick read. That being said, I would still have preferred a full prose version, as most people probably would.

***SPOILERS***

I had no idea what to expect from the storyline of the book, but despite this it still managed to surprise me. I thought the time-turning idea was really good even though it spun your head at times too, trying to figure out how things slotted together and how one small change could have such a huge effect on the wizarding world.

I enjoyed the fact that Harry’s relationship with Albus was not perfect and had more flaws than you would have imagined from the ending of the seventh book. Harry’s short temper from his teenage years was still evident, making his interactions with his younger son very strained. Harry was obviously struggling with the responsibility of being a good father, which may be linked to never having had a proper father figure of his own as he was growing up.

The storyline was gripping and had a good amount of action and unexpected moments. There was, however, one aspect of the story which I didn’t feel right about. The thought of Bellatrix and Voldemort being romantically involved to produce a child did not sit right with me at all. I would love to know if anyone else has strong feelings about this!

*** END OF SPOILERS***

To be honest, whatever had been written I would probably have enjoyed because it involved Harry Potter. Just the process of waiting for a new HP book to be released and the feel of unwrapping the parcel when it arrived and holding it in my hands was enough to satisfy my Harry Potter cravings which have been building for nine years since the last book was released. I feel that fans will have divided opinions about the storyline as it was so shocking. I am definitely hoping to be able to go and see the play, but the way tickets have sold out that probably won’t be happening for a couple of years!

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

