The Sacrifices of the Writer by Dane Cobain

Another guest post! This time it is by the author and poet Dane Cobain who has written novels in a range of genres (see links below). When he contacted me with the idea for this guest post it immediately struck a chord with me, although unfortunately the sacrifices I make are for studying not writing 😦 It has definitely made me appreciate more the work that authors put in to please their readers!


It’s hard being a writer. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t change it for the world. But it’s hard. My name’s Dane Cobain, I’m a writer, and I’m here today to talk about the sacrifices we make.

See, the problem with writing is that it takes a lot of time – the longest I’ve spent on a single book is three years, but I know people who’ve spent twice that amount, and even longer. It takes hundreds – if not thousands – of hours to finish writing a full-length project, especially if you count the editing time and subsequent marketing push.

As for me, I have a ridiculously busy schedule. I work from 9AM-5:30PM (most modern writers have to work a second job to support themselves), get home about 6:30 and then work until midnight. On weekends, I get up around 11AM and work almost non-stop until 1 or 2AM.

Of course, sometimes you have to leave the house to make a trip to the supermarket, and if you’re really lucky then you’ll be able to treat yourself to a day out. But writers aren’t like other people – they have to make sacrifices for their art, and it’s the social engagements that are the first to ho. As much as I’d love to go out for drinks after work or spend a Sunday afternoon in a beer garden, I can’t – I have too much to do.

When I first pitched this guest post idea, I talked about Pokemon Go. Unless you’re living in a rock, you’ll have noticed how the new augmented reality game is taking the world by storm. As for me, I haven’t played it, and there’s a reason for that. It’s not that I don’t want to – I’m too busy, and I know that if I start playing, I’ll get addicted to it, and I won’t be able to stop.

I’m 27-years-old and unmarried, without kids. There’s a reason for that. Yep, you guessed it – I don’t have time for it. I have a lot of respect for people who manage to balance being a writer with being a parent, but I also feel sorry for them in some ways – I don’t think I could deal with the balancing act, and constantly either letting myself down by not writing or letting my family down by ducking out of social situations.

It’s a little different for actors and artists, because whilst they do spend a lot of time perfecting their art, unless we’re talking about shooting a full-length movie, no individual piece takes as much concentrated, long-term effort as a novel does. An even if they are shooting a movie, it’s a social situation; writers have to work by themselves, if they want to get anything done.

But like I said, I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Thing is, writers don’t write for profit, and they don’t write because they want to hide away from people; they write because they are compelled tow rite and sometimes you have to make sacrifices. In my opinion, the sacrifices are worth it. Guess I won’t be playing Pokemon Go anytime soon then.


About the Author: Dane Cobain

If you enjoyed Dane’s post and want to find out more about him and his work, please follow the links below πŸ™‚

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Leave a Reply

