Author Interview: Junk Talk Poet

An exciting new post for my blog! Here is my first author interview with the lovely Junk Talk Poet, author of Navigating Nightmare Ecstasy.

When did you first start writing?

I started writing years ago after being inspired by an English teacher at my secondary school. I was going through a tough time towards the end of studying in Willenhall and he had a lot of faith in my writing. He encouraged me to pursue poetry as a positive outlet and it was about this time that I started writing regularly and developing my style. He exposed me to a lot of different writing styles and much of the influences I carry with me today.

Did you immediately start with poetry, or did you write prose first?

I currently write fiction alongside writing poetry and have even tried my hand at screen writing but I would definitely say that it started out with the poetry genre. I have always been amazed by the limitless amount of ways to express yourself through the art of poetry and I have continued to explore the boundaries of the genre.

Do you remember the first poem you read or that made a big impact on you?

The first poem that really made a difference to me has to be Allen Ginsberg’s Howl’. After reading this poem and watching a poetry short film associated with it I was instantly inspired to write about things closer to home which furthermore shaped my writing into the observational style I employ today.

Who is your favourite poet? Do they have any influence on your own work?

My favourite poet has to be Charles Bukowski. It is his dirty realist style that captures my attention, his poems are down to earth and capture the rich visual imagery of the lower classes and real life. I am currently drafting for a follow up chap book to ‘Navigating Nightmare Ecstasy’ and most of the poems that are currently entering the short list capture the darker side to society and the reality of the urban landscape.

What is your favourite poem and why?

My favourite poem has to be Raymond Carver’s ‘Fear’. I was pout on to his work through reading a lot of Bukowski and this particular poem struck a chord with me. It was the simplicity of its lines and the impact that he made with them that made me fall in love with this poem.

When did you decide that you wanted to publish your poetry for other people to read?

I decided very early on that I wanted to publish my work as I wanted other people to understand it and relate to it and it gives me a huge sense of pride when my work makes a difference or an impact on other people’s lives.

Do you have any tips for other aspiring poetry writers?

Whatever stage in your writing career never stop writing, this is the most important part of being a writer. The ability to create is the life blood that supplies the writer with his career in the first place and this should never stop. You don’t have to publish everything that you write but never stop writing, the drafting process can lead to greater poems in the future. I also have a blog that documents the writing process and tackles the struggles of being a modern day writer at: junktalkpoetblog


I absolutely love Junk Talk Poet’s answers, I don’t read much poetry but his clear passion for it has made me want to explore it more. If any of you are interested in finding out more about Navigating Nightmare Ecstasy or its authors, here are a few more links to help you do so:

Twitter

Instagram

Amazon

Leave a Reply

