Christmas Book Haul

First of all, I want to apologise for being absent for so long. The end of term before Christmas got really busy with exams and then my Christmas break was busier than I expected so I didn’t have time to sit down and blog properly. I’ve been missing it though, so I thought I would share with you the books I got for Christmas!

23452889034_1a3c42cbd5_o.jpg

Dolores Claiborne  by Stephen King

I have mixed feelings about Stephen King. I have read a few of his short stories and novellas and they have been hit and miss. Some of them I really enjoyed, for example, ‘A Good Marriage’ and ‘Big Driver’. Others are downright strange, and I’m not sure how I feel about them! However, I do like a good creepy story, and the synopsis of this one sounded like it wouldn’t get too weird…but it is Stephen King, so we shall see!

 

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

I’ve seen a lot of this book in the ‘Bookstagram’ community and have been wanting to read it for a while. The description is really intriguing and I can’t wait to start reading it because I love mysteries.

 

A Thousand Pieces of You & Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

I read ATPOY about this time last year as part of a book group on Goodreads (my review). It isn’t the sort of book I would normally choose for myself, but I loved it and couldn’t wait for the next one to come out. I only had it on my Kindle before so I asked for the paper copy for Christmas, along with the next book in the series so I can find out what happens next.

 

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

This is the third book in the Miss Peregrine series, which I fell in love with last summer. I am currently halfway through the second book and I am so glad I received the third one to complete my collection. Not only are they great stories, but I am fascinated by the pictures and they are lovely additions to my bookshelf.

 

Conspiracy Theories by Jamie King

I love reading about conspiracy theories, and if I ever watch a YouTube video on one, I end up spending hours watching a whole load. I am quite sceptical about them – some are ridiculous and I just enjoy because they make me laugh, but others can actually be quite convincing. I think the main reason I like them is the sense of mystery they have and that the world might not be quite as it seems.

 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – Illustrated Edition

When I saw that an illustrated version of Harry Potter was being released it went straight onto my wishlist. It is the most beautiful book – I couldn’t even put it away on my bookshelf so it is on display in my room. I really hope that they bring out the whole series because it would take my Harry Potter book collection to the next level.


 

I hope you enjoyed reading about the books I got for Christmas – what did you all get for Christmas? I love hearing from other people because it always gives me inspiration for which books to read next 🙂

One thought on “Christmas Book Haul

Leave a Reply

