MAGICAL MONDAYS WEEK 8: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Film

As I say every time – I can’t believe how long ago this film was released, 10 years! I can’t actually remember the first time I saw Goblet of Fire, but I think it is the last HP film that I didn’t go to see at the cinema. It is, hands down, in my favourite film. There are certain scenes in the some of the others that I love more (e.g. The Battle of Hogwarts), but as a whole film, this one wins.

The Quidditch World Cup was done brilliantly. The stadium was amazing and the flying effects are so much better than those in the first film! I also really want to own a wizard tent, I’m not a camping type of girl but I certainly would be if tents were like that!

Another of my favourite scenes is where Beauxbatons and Durmstrang make their entry – it’s so dramatic and really helps add to the aura of mystery surrounding the students from these other wizarding schools. Along with about 99% of the HP fan community, I can’t stand how Dumbeldore reacts when Harry’s name comes out of the goblet. They way Gambon acts that scene is so un-Dumbledore that I can hardly even watch it.

(Taken from LINK)

Michael Gambon never quite lived up to Richard Harris’ Dumbledore, which I think is a shame because he has such a unique, likeable character in the books. Brendon Gleeson, on the other hand, makes a perfect Moody, and is exactly how I imagine him from the books.

I think part of the reason I like this film so much is because I love watching the tasks, particularly the underwater one. I used to re-enact it in the swimming pool when I was younger!

The graveyard scene is very intense and creepy. I think Ralph Fiennes acts Voldemort’s rebirth so well, you really believe that he is experiencing being in a body again for the first time in over thirteen years. I imagine the producers and designers spent ages perfecting Voldemort’s look, and I think they got it spot on.

As the film ends, I think Hermione’s line ‘Everything’s going to change now, isn’t it?’ is particularly poignant. The end of this film is the turning point of the series and after this the films have a completely different, much darker feel.

No spell can reawaken the dead, Harry. I trust you know that. Dark and difficult times lie ahead. Soon we must all face the choice between what is right and what is easy.

(P.S. I also couldn’t do this review without mentioning the boys’ hair – what were they thinking!)

Leave a Reply

