MAGICAL MONDAYS WEEK 6: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Film

harrypotter3b

I can’t believe that this film was released over ten years ago! I can’t remember the first time I watched it, but I have watched it many times since. It is my mum’s favourite film of the series so we quite often sit down to watch it when we’re having a quiet evening in.

The Prisoner of Azkaban is definitely the point in the series when the films start to become darker and more sinister…the Dementors…need I say more. I think they were done extremely well and can make you almost feel the coldness sweeping over you as you watch. I used to hate the moment on the train when that bony, scabbed hand curls round the compartment door with an ominous cracking of joints!

Despite this, there are still plenty of fun moments in the film, for example, the scene with the Boggart. I love the scenes of Hogsmeade, especially Honeydukes and The Three Broomsticks. I couldn’t write this post without including one of my favourite moments from the whole series – when Hermione finally loses her cool and gives Malfoy what he deserves! She does it so well, and to see Malfoy scampering away flanked by Crabbe and Goyle is hilarious.

I feel like Sirius isn’t quite as wild as I imagined him being in the books, but Gary Oldman does do him justice. As I said last week, I wish Harry could have had the chance to go and live with him, but then, I guess, it would have made for a very different story! At least he found someone to sign his Hogsmeade permission slip though.

Another aspect of Prisoner of Azkaban that I love is the awkwardness that is becoming more noticeable between Ron and Hermione. It takes a falling out between them, and the advice of Hagrid to make him see what a valuable friend she is.

Overall I think the film was very well done – I’m just sad they missed out Pigwidgeon at the end!

One of my favourite movie quotes from the whole series: ‘Is that really what my hair looks like from the back?!’

Leave a comment