MAGICAL MONDAYS WEEK 5: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.

Harry Potter, along with his best friends, Ron and Hermione, is about to start his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry can’t wait to get back to school after the summer holidays. (Who wouldn’t if they lived with the horrible Dursleys?) But when Harry gets to Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school…

I first read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban on holiday in Portugal when I was eight. It was the only book I took with me, and because I was so gripped I finished it much faster than I expected. My family didn’t have any other books that were suitable for me to read so I just started reading it again!

Week 39.

Prisoner of Azkaban is one of my favourite books. I feel it is the last of the series that isn’t too dark, and you still get a lot of the fun aspects of the wizarding world coming through. The Marauder’s Map is something that I would love to own, partly because I am really nosy and so it would let me spy on people!

Another part of the third book that I love is our first experience of Hogsmeade. It sounds like such an amazing village and I would give anything to spend an afternoon wandering around its shops, finishing off, of course, with a warming butterbeer in the Three Broomsticks.

I also think the time-turning aspect of the story is really interesting. It is very difficult to get your head round, and it doesn’t surprise me that McGonagall thought Hermione was the only one responsible enough to know about it. I don’t know how she can resist the urge to go back and change things though.

Sirius Black is a great addition to the story – he is a fiercely loyal friend to Lily and James, but also a powerful and slightly unpredictable wizard. By the end of the book though, you know he will always strive to do what is best for Harry. For the few pages where Harry believes that he will finally be able to escape the Dursleys, you get a glimpse of the life he might have had if he had never been taken away from the wizarding world, which makes it all the more sad when it is taken away from him again.

That being said, I think that Prisoner of Azkaban has a good balance of the fun and dark side of Hogwarts, which is probably why it is one of my favourites.

Mischief managed.

One thought on “MAGICAL MONDAYS WEEK 5: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Leave a Reply

