MAGICAL MONDAYS WEEK 3: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

IMG_4793

Harry Potter is a wizard.  He is in his second year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Little does he know that this year will be just as eventful as the last.

I can’t actually remember the first time I read ‘The Chamber of Secrets’, but I think I was about seven. It didn’t take long for me to move onto the next one in the series after reading the first one. I like ‘Chamber of Secrets’ because the dark heavy scenes, they are offset by some fun, interesting characters and it still contains some of the happy, innocent charm of magic from the first book.

Dobby the house elf is introduced in ‘Chamber of Secrets’. He is one of my favourite characters in the series – his undying loyalty to Harry, his constant apologies, and of course, once he is free, his love of socks make him so endearing!t His numerous attempts to save Harry from Voldemort, are meant well but always end horribly, which just adds to the charm of this little elf with his huge tennis ball eyes.

I also love the first introduction you have to Ron’s home life. The Burrow sounds like such a homely, warm place to grow up that I wish I could be a Weasley – even if it did mean that I would have to wear hand-me-downs.

Another great character in ‘Chamber of Secrets’ is Gilderoy Lockhart. He provides some comic relief to the story, need I mention Cornish Pixies?! His arrogance in thinking that he is more famous than Harry is so annoying, but it also makes me laugh. I also think it’s interesting that Ron sees through his ego from the start – Hermione is wrong for once!

One of my favourite things about ‘Chamber of Secrets’ is how important it is in the series as a whole – but of course you don’t realise this until you read the last few books which is yet another example of why J. K. Rowling is such an amazing author. Who knew that Tom Riddle’s secret diary would turn out to play such an essential part in the war against Voldemort.

Leave a Reply

