Throwback Thursday Week 12: Clarice Bean by Lauren Child

IMG_2703

That’s the thing that sometimes happens when you read a really good book — you just want to read it all over again

I loved the Clarice Bean books when I was younger. I was drawn to the illustrations and creative ways the words were incorporated into them. Clarice Bean is a young, fiesty girl who is in love with a book series about a girl detective called Ruby Redfort. I’ve always been attracted to books about other book lovers…I wonder why?!

There’s one part in the book I remember fondly; Clarice Bean likes to sit and read in the airing cupboard and read by torchlight. I thought this sounded so fun that I set up my own reading den in the cupboard under the stairs, complete with a small torch sellotaped to the ceiling. I loved going and hiding away in there with a good book, somehow the secrecy of my hidey-hole and the dim lighting could make any book seem even better.

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Week 12: Clarice Bean by Lauren Child

Leave a Reply

