Throwback Thursday Week 11: On Holiday in Portugal

IMG_2487

This is a photo of me reading on holiday in Guincho, Portugal in 2012. I was on holiday with my family, having just finished school forever so I was feeling pretty relaxed 🙂

I can’t remember exactly what book I was reading in this picture but I do remember reading Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen on that holiday.

Colie expects the worst when she’s sent to spend the summer with her eccentric aunt Mira while her mother, queen of the television infomercial, tours Europe. Always an outcast-first for being fat and then for being “easy”-Colie has no friends at home and doesn’t expect to find any in Colby, North Carolina. But then she lands a job at the Last Chance Café and meets fellow waitresses Morgan and Isabel, best friends with a loving yet volatile relationship. Wacky yet wise, Morgan and Isabel help Colie see herself in a new way and realize the potential that has been there all along.

I’ve read a few of Dessen’s books and I enjoy them as easy summer reads. I remember this one made me long for a nice long, hot summer in a place like North Carolina, surrounded by friends and a budding romance….if only my summers were like that! 😉

Leave a Reply

