Happy World Book Day!

image1 (2)

Today, 5th March 2015, is World Book Day.

World Book Day is a celebration! It’s a celebration of authors, illustrators, books and (most importantly) it’s a celebration of reading. In fact, it’s the biggest celebration of its kind, designated by UNESCO as a worldwide celebration of books and reading, and marked in over 100 countries all over the world.

What could be better than a day of the year dedicated to celebrate books? 2015 is the 18th year that World Book Day has been celebrated and I am wholeheartedly in support of it. I can still remember the excitement of picking which character you would dress up as and getting your £1 book token at school. Inevitably, most years I ended up dressing as Alice in Wonderland; if I were at home, I would add a picture to this post to show you just how cute I was 😉

I have loved reading for as long as I can remember and books have played a huge part in my life. I had moved onto Harry Potter by the age of 6, when most of my friends were still reading short picture books and I couldn’t understand why they didn’t have the desire to move on to longer and more exciting stories. My parents took me to the library regularly when I was a child and I would spend hours browsing the shelves for something new and exciting. I would become attached to certain books and renew them so I could read them again and again.

I think that World Book Day is a brilliant idea. If it encourages more children to pick up a book and discover the wonder of words then it has more than done its job. Reading is a gift that I wish more people would appreciate. We’re all guilty of taking it for granted at times, especially in societies of ever-increasing technology. Everyone who has the ability to read should celebrate it daily for the opportunities, power, and happiness it can give you. Whatever it is you like to read, enjoy it, and appreciate the fact that you are lucky enough to be able to.

So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone. – Roald Dahl

Link to the World Book Day website

Leave a Reply

