A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

I read this book as part of ‘The Eilte Readers’ group on Goodreads. It is definitely not a book that I would have picked up myself and I was a bit apprehensive apart staring it, but all I can say is I’m glad I branched out of my usual genre – I loved it!

The story is narrated by Marguerite, the daughter of two influential scientists who have created a device, the Firebird, which allows you to travel between dimensions. The book begins the day after Marguerite’s father has died in a car accident. The ‘accident’ doesn’t seem to be as straightforward as it first appears however, and Marguerite along with one of her parents’ lab assistants, Theo, believe that her father, Henry Caine, was murdered. They think that another lab assistant, Paul, who has stolen the notes on the Firebird is responsible and it is likely that he has escaped into another dimension. Desperate to avenge her father’s death, Marguerite decides to join Theo in the journey across dimensions to find Paul and make him pay for what he has done.

‘They say “time heals”, but even now, less than a week after my father’s death, I know that’s  a lie. What people really mean is that eventually you’ll get used to the pain.’

I don’t want to ruin the story so I can’t go into much detail about what happens once they start their dimension hopping, but I can describe the dimensions they end up in without too many spoilers. The first dimension they land in is a futuristic version of London, where technology is an essential part of everyone’s lives and Marguerite is living with her aunt because both her parents are dead. The next dimension Marguerite lands in is the polar opposite of the one she has just left. She is now a Grand Duchess of Russia, and civilisation is much more technologically behind what she is used to, with the fastest form of long distance communication being via letters. This was my favourite dimension, partly because it was so different to any society we are used to, and partly because of what happens there, but I won’t spoil that for you! The third, and final dimension they visit is one in which her parents are oceanographers and they are living in an underwater oceanographic station in the heart of the Coral Sea.

Despite not usually being a fan of science-fiction type novels, I actually really liked the idea of multiple dimensions used in this book. I loved the thought that there could be multiple versions of you, with drastically different lives because of potentially minuscule differences in society or even just your family. Despite this, I did have some technical questions about how the multiple dimensions work and intertwine, and I would love to get a chance to ask the author about them.

A Thousand Pieces of You has a perfect combination of mystery, romance, and action to keep you hooked. I’m not normally a fan of romance novels, but although it did feature in this book, it didn’t overtake the whole story line and I liked the way it was written. I can’t wait for the next book in the series, and I definitely recommend it, even if it’s not something you would usually pick. Branch out and give it a go, I’m certainly glad that I did!

5/5

‘I’m vulnerable to them; as long as there are people in the world I love, that will be true. But vulnerable isn’t the same as helpless.’

4 thoughts on “A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

  1. sumlynnnguyen says:

    The cover looks amazing (even though I know I should never judge a book by its cover)! I actually read Claudia Gray’s Evernight series and liked it at the time. I think the only and last time travel I read was Caroline B. Cooney’s Time Travelers, when I was in middle school, so I’ll definitely have to add this one on my to-read list. Great review!

    • aliceceinwen says:

      Thank you, I hope you love it as much as I did! Also, I love the cover too, I only have it on my Kindle at the moment, but I might have to buy the book as well because it’s so lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

