Throwback Thursday Week 8: A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

IMG_2094

There is nothing to be found in the pages of A Series of Unfortunate Events but misery and despair.

You still have time to choose another international best-seller to read. But if you must know what unpleasantries befall the charming and clever Baudelaire children read on . . .

In The Bad Beginning the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune and cold porridge for breakfast. Then again, why trouble yourself with the unfortunate resolutions?

I remember I started reading A Series of Unfortunate events around the age of nine; I really liked them but for some reason I never finished the series, only getting as far as about the seventh book.

A couple of years ago I saw the complete set for a ridiculous price, about £10, on the Kindle store. It was during my exams so I thought I would wait until I was free before I bought it or it would have been a distraction. However, when I went to download it a couple of weeks later the price had gone up to about £50! The original price had been a mistake and I kicked myself so much not for buying it then and there.

However, my sister picked up the first two books in a charity shop last summer. I subsequently read them and it reignited another book-related mission for me: to try to find and read the whole series. I think I will try and accomplish it this summer, searching charity shops and the used section of Amazon so I don’t end up spending loads as there is 13 books in total!

Moral of this story: If you see a great deal on Amazon buy it straight away 😉

Leave a Reply

