Throwback Thursday Week 4: The Complete Winnie the Pooh

download

In 1926, “Winnie-the-Pooh, ” a collection of stories about a rather stout, somewhat confused bear, was published in England and America. The enchanting tales of Pooh, Piglet, Eeyore, Christopher Robin, and the others were an immediate success, and firmly established A.A. Milne, already an acclaimed dramatist, as a major author of children’s books. “Winnie-the-Pooh” was followed in 1928 by a second collection, “The House At Pooh Corner, ” which continued the adventures from the Hundred Acre Wood and introduced bouncy, lovable Tigger.

Winnie the Pooh is a childhood classic; timeless and loved by multiple generations. I can remember my parents reading it to me when I was younger and being enchanted by the Hundred Acre Wood and the adventures of the loveable animals who lived there. I always loved Eeyore, because his eternal grumpiness made me laugh.

I love this hardback edition that I own; I think my grandma gave it to me. She always used to buy me a book and a ‘nice’ dress from Marks and Spencers when I visited her, which of course I loved! I’ve kept some of the dresses, and all the books of course, partly because I am a bit of a hoarder and partly because I think they’re nice mementos of her.

I will no doubt be reading this book to my children in the future, I don’t think Winnie the Pooh will ever grow old.

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Week 4: The Complete Winnie the Pooh

Leave a Reply

