Throwback Thursday Week 3: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix 2003

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix 2003

This is a photo of me reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for the very first time. I was on holiday in France (just outside Paris) with my family. We were staying in a lovely old French house with a beautiful walled garden and a nice cool swimming pool. We went during a heatwave, so it was over 40C most days – the hottest weather I have ever experienced! We were too hot to do much besides sitting in the shade with our books and floating around in the pool.

I miss the excitement of reading a eagerly awaiting for the next Harry Potter book to come out and devouring the pages for  the first time. It’s a feeling that I’m never going to experience again and I realise now that I should have savoured it while I could!

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is probably my least favourite of the series because it marks the transition from the somewhat safe, enjoyable world of Hogwarts to the darker times ahead, and so it has a depressing feel to it. This is particularly apparent in the character of Harry, I find him very difficult to like in this book. That being said, I still love it, and I feel like it is one of the most important books in the series. It finally explains the connection between Harry and Voldemort so you can finally begin to understand why Voldemort is so intent on killing him. I also love the character of Umbridge; she an excellent, evil, twisted character, and the scene where Fred and George get their own back on her is one of my favourites in the whole series.

Leave a Reply

