Throwback Thursday Week 2: The Exiles by Hilary McKay

IMG_1459

The four Conroy sisters spend a wild summer at the seaside with Big Grandma, who tries to break them of their reading habit by substituting fresh air and hard work for books and gets unexpected results.

One of my school friends gave me this book for my 11th birthday. It is the first in a series of three which have become one of my absolute childhood favourites. I often found myself imaging that I had another two sisters (I already have one) so we could have the same great adventures.

They Conroys appealed so much to me because of their love of reading. They’re fun-loving, carefree girls who make you want to be part of their family. Some of the things they get up to, and the situations they find themselves in still make me laugh even now. If I have daughters in the future, I hope they are just like the Conroys so they can keep me smiling every day.

Leave a Reply

